Jump to content


#Kametsu @ irc.kametsu.com

Photo

Yu-Gi-Oh! - Jinzo Rulings

[Ruling]

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1
Koby

Koby

    Beyond the Grave

  • Administrator
  • 10633 posts
  • LocationTexas

Posted Image

Effect: Trap Cards cannot be activated. The effects of all face-up Trap Cards are negated.

I have a lot of duels where various questions like this come up and rather than debate about it in a duel it's just easier to post here for a source to link to when needed.

Question: Jinzo negates all face-up Trap Cards.. then what happens with Call of the Haunted and similar cards? Can they be used to special summon him or would once summon the effect be negated and Jinzo have to be sent back to grave?

Answer: Yes, Jinzo can be Special Summoned by Call of the Haunted as the Special Summon is resolved before he's officially on the field for his effect to activate. He simply negates the destruction ability afterwards of CotH's effect. So when Call of the Haunted is destroyed, Jinzo won't be destroyed.

If Jinzo was special summoned with Call of the Haunted and later Jinzo is destroyed, Call of the Haunted will be destroyed.

Question: Well then I have a question. I negate Jinzo with... Effect Veiler or something, and destroy CotH in that situation. Does it bring down Jinzo with it?

Answer: Yes, if Jinzo is brought back with Call of the Haunted and later Effect Veiler (or a similar card) negates Jinzo, Jinzo will be destroyed when Call of the Haunted is destroyed.

 [/hr]

If anyone has any other questions please feel free to ask them.

Join our IRC channel at #Kametsu @ irc.kametsu.comJackSparrow.png

Social Networks: [Facebook] [MyAnimeList] [MALgraph]


#2
Nero D. Ace

Nero D. Ace

    Tactical Strategist

  • Crusaders +
  • 3227 posts
While we're on the topic of Jinzo, say -

Someone summons Jinzo any which way and we activate a trap that negates the summon like Trap Hole, Bottomless Trap Hole, Solemn Warning or Solemn Judgement. Is Jinzo's summon negated or does his effect prevent us from activating traps?

"You can look far and high but you won't find a bigger star than me!"

Posted Image


#3
Koby

Koby

    Beyond the Grave

  • Administrator
  • 10633 posts
  • LocationTexas

While we're on the topic of Jinzo, say -

Someone summons Jinzo any which way and we activate a trap that negates the summon like Trap Hole, Bottomless Trap Hole, Solemn Warning or Solemn Judgement. Is Jinzo's summon negated or does his effect prevent us from activating traps?


Trap Hole destroys a monster once it's been summoned. So Jinzo would effectively be on the field first I'd say and therefore Trap Hole wouldn't work. Same with Bottomless Trap Hole.

Solemn Warning says it actually 'negates' the summon, therefore it should work because Jinzo wouldn't actually be considered summoned on the field yet. I believe it's the same with Solemn Judgment.

Join our IRC channel at #Kametsu @ irc.kametsu.comJackSparrow.png

Social Networks: [Facebook] [MyAnimeList] [MALgraph]


#4
Koby

Koby

    Beyond the Grave

  • Administrator
  • 10633 posts
  • LocationTexas
Update:

There seems to be some discrepancies in the ruling and it's been brought to the attention of most of the DN staff and at this time I'm waiting for them to verify some questions to clear it up, but it seems Jinzo actually can not be Special Summoned by Call of the Haunted.

Join our IRC channel at #Kametsu @ irc.kametsu.comJackSparrow.png

Social Networks: [Facebook] [MyAnimeList] [MALgraph]


#5
Nero D. Ace

Nero D. Ace

    Tactical Strategist

  • Crusaders +
  • 3227 posts
Well, I guess I won't have to worry about this anymore. Though, the earlier description made more sense. I mean, Jinzo wasn't negating anything in the Grave and when he got summoned, he just negated the "effect" of CotH. The effect simply stated to remove both when either of them were destroyed, but CotD wasn't destroyed, simply negated.

"You can look far and high but you won't find a bigger star than me!"

Posted Image


#6
Koby

Koby

    Beyond the Grave

  • Administrator
  • 10633 posts
  • LocationTexas
Alright the ruling discrepancies have been filed. I've edited the first post to reflect the official rulings determined by DN staff.

Jinzo can in fact be Special Summoned by Call of the Haunted as the Special Summon is resolved before he's officially on the field for his effect to activate. He simply negates the destruction ability afterwards of CotH's effect. However you can use a card to negate Jinzo's ability and then destroy Call of the Haunted to take Jinzo down with it.

Join our IRC channel at #Kametsu @ irc.kametsu.comJackSparrow.png

Social Networks: [Facebook] [MyAnimeList] [MALgraph]


#7
RazorDan

RazorDan

    The Lazy One

  • Super Moderators
  • 1789 posts
  • LocationBirmingham England
how about skill drain with jinzo?

heifinal.png

'' Imperfections are what make us perfect ''
 

Story, please sign up

 

http://forums.kamets...-story-sign-up/

 

 

 


#8
Super-Buu-5

Super-Buu-5

    Hedge Knight

  • Crusader
  • 116 posts
If skill drain was on the field first then it negate's his effect but you can't activate skill drain while jinzo is on the field. Also I don't think jinzo is destroyed when you use effect veiler cause there's no way to get the timing right, and jinzo loses all connection to call when he's summoned with it, so when jinzo is destroyed call is not (unless there's a way to get the timing right with effect veiler)

#9
Koby

Koby

    Beyond the Grave

  • Administrator
  • 10633 posts
  • LocationTexas

how about skill drain with jinzo?

As Super-Buu-5 says. Skill Drain would have to be on the field before he's summoned because you can't activate Traps after he is. All Skill Drain would do is negate his effect so you can then destroy CotH to take him down. Effect Veiler will effectively work the same way. Use it to negate Jinzo's effect and then destroy CotH and thus Jinzo is destroyed.

If his effect is not negated and CotH is destroyed then Jinzo is not. However if Jinzo is destroyed then Call of the Haunted is still destroyed as well. This is all according to the rulings according that the DuelingNetwork.com staff agreed on.

Join our IRC channel at #Kametsu @ irc.kametsu.comJackSparrow.png

Social Networks: [Facebook] [MyAnimeList] [MALgraph]


#10
doivid

doivid

    Moppet

  • Crusader
  • 15 posts

Pro tip: call of the haunted Jinzo. When call of the haunted is removed from the field Jinzo stays there, bad thing is though if Jinzo is removed from the field call of the haunted stays 



#11
AxelVIII

AxelVIII

    Hedge Knight

  • Crusaders +
  • 505 posts
  • LocationCastle Oblivion

Pro tip: call of the haunted Jinzo. When call of the haunted is removed from the field Jinzo stays there, bad thing is though if Jinzo is removed from the field call of the haunted stays 

 

How does CotH stay without a monster?


KingdomHearts_zps75a7160f.png
All Credit to firedogx10 for this Sig.






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: [Ruling]

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


Friends: Advanced Anime, Kingdom Hearts Recharged, Otaku Rave


Anime100.eu PPN Top 50